The Most Commonly Issued Traffic Tickets in Texas
January 13th, 2021 by Tad Nelson in Traffic Offenses
One of the best ways to keep your driving record clean is to know what police officers are keeping an eye out for on the roads. Texting and driving, for instance, is becoming a more serious issue in Texas every year, while failing to wear a seat belt also catches many drivers off guard. Fortunately, even those who are unable to avoid getting a ticket still have options that can help keep them from accruing points on their record and an increase in insurance rates. To learn more about your own options after receiving a traffic citation, please call our experienced Houston traffic violations attorneys today.
Cell Phone Use/Texting
Cell phone use while driving has become an increasingly serious problem in Texas. In fact, the state Department of Transportation recently revealed that as many as one in four crashes in Texas involve driver distraction. In an effort to curb this kind of behavior, the state legislature passed a state-wide texting while driving ban in 2017. Those found in violation of this law face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of up to $200.
Speeding is another of the most commonly issued moving violations in Texas. In fact, one study even revealed that Texas police officers issue more speeding tickets than all but four other states in the U.S. The consequences faced by a driver cited for speeding depends on a couple of different factors, including how much the driver exceeded the speed limit and whether or not there are prior violations on his or her record. Fortunately, drivers can avoid these penalties by contesting their ticket in court.
Failure to Stop
Although red light cameras were officially banned in Texas in 2019, many cities continue to use them and will do so until their contracts expire. This means that many drivers could still end up with a failure to stop citation, which comes with a hefty fine and the accrual of two points on a person’s driving record.
Driving Under the Influence
Texas, like every other state in the nation, makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more. Those who are charged with a DUI, even for a first offense, face a license suspension of up to a year and a minimum of three days in jail. Even refusing to take a breath or blood alcohol test is punishable by an automatic 180 day suspension.
Under Texas law, all passengers must wear seatbelts when in a moving vehicle. This is true for back seat passengers, who up until recently, were exempt from the seatbelt law. Those cited for failing to wear a seatbelt face a $200 fine and other fees, unless a passenger was underage, in which case, the penalties could be even more severe.
Do You Need Help Contesting a Traffic Ticket in Houston, Galveston or League City?
To speak with an experienced Houston traffic violations lawyer about your options following receipt of a traffic citation, please call The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates. We can be reached at 281-962-7817 or via online message.