What You Need to Know About the Sex Offender Registry in Texas
June 28th, 2018 by Tad Nelson in Sex Crime
Many of us know that there are some sex-related offenses that require the offender to register on the sex offender registry. But what offenses exactly are those that require the offender to register and how long must the offender stay on the registry list? Those are questions that an offender will likely want to know the answers to when facing sex-related criminal charges.
What Offenses Require Registration in Texas?
There are over 20 sex-related offenses that require an offender to register as a sex offender in the state of Texas. A person may be required to register as a sex offender as part of their community supervision or as a condition of their parole. A person that was convicted of a sex-related offense outside of Texas may also be required to register if their offense was similar to those that the state of Texas requires for registration.
How Long Does an Offender Have to Stay Registered?
The length of time that an offender has to stay registered on the sex offender list depends on the offense as well as other factors. Some offenders face a lifetime registration requirement, but others only have a 10-year registration requirement.
If the case was based on an adjudication of delinquent conduct, then the offender’s requirement to register ends on the date 10 years after the date of disposition. If the registration was based on a deferred adjudication or conviction, the registration duty ends 10 years after the person is released from prison or released from community supervision.
Examples of crimes that may have a 10-year registration requirement include indecency with a young child in a manner not listed under a lifetime registration requirement and online solicitation of a minor. Examples of crimes that have a lifetime registration requirement are indecency with a young child, sexual assault, possession or promotion of child porn, and sexual performance by a child.
What Does the Duty to Register Require?
An offender that is required to register must register with the county or city where they reside if they plan to stay there for more than seven days. The registration must contain the age of the victim, offense the person was convicted of, and a color photograph of the offender. An offender must also comply with requests for DNA samples. There are employment restrictions as well for certain types of registrants.
Contact a League City or Galveston Criminal Defense Attorney for Help
As you can see, the registration requirements of a convicted sex offender can be very complex and life altering. Following the registration requirements is a must because failure to register when required could result in additional criminal consequences. These consequences could mean felony charges, additional jail time, and large fines.
If you are facing criminal charges for a sex-crime it is vital that you have an experienced criminal lawyer on your side who will fight to protect your rights. The Houston defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates have the experience and knowledge to explain your rights and options surrounding the circumstances of your case. Contact us today for a consultation or give us a call at (281) 280-0100.