Texas DWI Penalties
Have You Been Charged With a DWI In Houston, Galveston or League City?, We Can Help
The state of Texas has harsh penalties for DWIs. If you were arrested for intoxicated driving, even if it is the first offense, you could face severe consequences. To protect yourself, it is imperative that you are represented by a top-rated Houston DWI defense lawyer.
At the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, our founding attorney Tad Nelson is a former Galveston County assistant district attorney. He has a deep understanding of the criminal process, which he uses to ensure that our clients receive the best DWI defense.
If you have recently been charged with drunk driving in Southeast Texas, we want you to know just what you can expect from the legal process. Here, our DWI defense team provides a comprehensive overview of the penalties for a DWI conviction under Texas Law.
Penalties for a DWI in Southeast Texas
First Offense DWI
- Up to a $2,000 fine;
- Between 72 hours and 180 days in jail; and
- Mandatory Texas driver’s license suspension for up to one year.
Second Offense DWI
- Up to a $4,000 fine;
- Between 30 days to one year in jail;
- Mandatory Texas driver’s license suspension for up to two years; and
- Requirement to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicles.
Third Offense DWI
- Up to a $10,000 fine;
- Between two years and ten years in state prison;
- Automatic Texas driver’s license suspension for up to two years; and
- Mandatory installation of an interlock ignition devices, on all cars.
Heightened Penalties: Felony DWI Charges
Regardless of your past criminal history, you may also face heightened DWI penalties if there were aggravating factors included in your case. This means that, under certain conditions, a first time DWI can be charged as a felony, and the defendant could face substantial prison time. Specifically, some examples of aggravating factors that will allow Texas prosecutors to upgrade a DWI to a felony include the following:
- Extreme reckless driving;
- Causing an accident that leads to a serious injury or fatality; and
- Drunk driving with a child in the car.
You May Qualify for Community Supervision
In certain circumstances, a driver arrested for a DWI may be able to reduce their punishment through the Texas community supervision program. Of course, probation is not easy. There will be certain community service and education-related requirements, and they will be harsher depending on the severity of the conviction. While people convicted of felony DWI charges are also technically eligible for probation, the likelihood of receiving it is dramatically reduced.
Were You Arrested for Drunk Driving in Southeast Texas?
If you or a loved one has been arrested for intoxicated driving in Southeast Texas, immediate action is required. At the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, our aggressive Texas DWI defense lawyers are here to protect your legal rights. Our principal attorney, Tad Nelson, is a Board-Certified criminal defense specialist who has seen all sides of these cases. For immediate help, please call us today at (281) 280-0100 .
Major Credit Cards Accepted
Evening, Weekend, and Off-Site Appointments Available
*The Texas Board of Legal Specialization certifies attorneys in 20 specific areas of law; certification in any of these areas requires substantial demonstrated experience and skill, positive peer evaluations, ongoing legal education commitments, and the passage of a rigorous test.