Texas Underage Drinking & Driving Lawyer
Representing Those Charged with Driving Under the Influence and Under-21 DWIs
Driving after having an alcoholic beverage isn’t always against the law, but it is when you are under 21 years of age, or when you have had enough alcohol that you are impaired or your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is .08 percent or above.
If you are a parent of a child (under the age of 21) who is facing a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge for operating a motor vehicle with alcohol in their system, our experienced Texas underage drinking and driving lawyer can help you and your child understand the charges they are facing, what defenses may be available, and what the outcome of charges might be if your child is convicted. We know that a skilled defense is critical for trying to avoid a conviction, and will work hard on your child’s behalf. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation and begin the process of building a defense today.
Texas Underage Drinking and Driving Attorney
Having any detectable amount of alcohol in your system as a minor under the age of 21 years old and operating a motor vehicle is illegal. Texas has established a zero tolerance policy for minors who commit alcohol-related offenses, which means that if a minor is caught drinking while driving, even if the amount of alcohol in their blood is below the .08 percent limit that is set for adults 21 and older, they are subject to the charge of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor (DUIA by a minor).
What Are the Penalties Associated with a DUIA by a Minor?
If a minor under the age of 17 is caught operating a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol on their breath, and if they are convicted of the offense, they are subject to:
- License suspension for 60 days (for the first offense, for a second offense, the suspension period increases to 120 days);
- Class C misdemeanor charges;
- A fine of up to $500;
- 20-40 hours of community service; and
- Attendance in an alcohol awareness course.
If the minor is between 17 and 21 years of age, the penalties are slightly more severe. To be sure, the offense is increased to a class B misdemeanor, and the fine increases to up to $2,000, there is an incarceration period of between 72 hours and 180 days, and the driver’s license suspension time period is one year.
In addition to DUIA by a minor penalties, the youth may also face other charges, such as those associated with purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol, consuming or possessing alcohol, or illegal representation of oneself as 21 years old.
Work with an Experienced Underage Drinking and Driving Lawyer
At the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, our experienced Texas underage drinking and driving lawyer will explore all avenues possible to have charges dismissed, or to have the case deferred – we know how heartbreaking it can be to have one mistake ruin a young person’s life.