Are You Facing Possession or Sale of Marijuana Charges?
Late last month, border patrol agents near Laredo seized more than 10,000 pounds of marijuana from a semi-truck. Some 423 bundles weighing in just over five tons with an estimated street value of about $8 million were confiscated. Although busts near the border are fairly common at the Laredo Port of Entry, this is the biggest so far this year.
Texas Law Cracks Down on Marijuana Possession
While some states have been changing their laws regarding the possession of marijuana, Texas continues to severely punish offenders who violate marijuana laws. Even a small amount of marijuana can land an offender in jail. Being found with two ounces or less of marijuana in your possession can land you in jail for 180 days and a fine of as much as $2,000.
- Possession of Marijuana – possession of marijuana between two and four ounces is a Class A misdemeanor, possession of four ounces to five pounds is a state level felony, possession of five to 50 pounds is a third-degree felony, possession of 50 to 2,000 pounds is a second-degree felony, and over 2,000 pounds could result in time in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or between five and 99 years plus a $50,000 fine.
- Sale of Marijuana – Selling 0.25 ounces or less without remuneration is a Class B misdemeanor or if there is remuneration, it is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Possession of 0.25 ounces to five pounds is a state jail felony. Possession of five to 50 pounds is a second-degree felony, and possession of 50 pounds to 2,000 pounds is a first-degree felony. Possession over 2,000 pounds results in a sentence to a Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or 10 to 99 years and/or a $100,000 fine. Penalties increase if the sale was to someone under 17 years of age or took place in a drug-free zone.
Penalties for the Sale or Possession of Marijuana
Possession of marijuana comes with penalties ranging from as little as 180 days in jail to up to 99 years in prison. It also carries a fine ranging from $2,000 to $50,000. Fines and jail sentences are dependent upon the amount of marijuana that the offender had in their possession.
The sale of marijuana also comes with a jail sentence ranging from as little as 180 days in jail to up to 99 years in prison. The fines range between $2,000 and $100,000. These penalties are also based on how much of the substance was sold, as well as how old the person was that was being sold to and the location where the marijuana was being sold at.
Do You Need a Criminal Defense Attorney in League City?
While many states seem to be following a national trend of decriminalizing marijuana, Texas has continued to dish out harsh punishments for those who sell or possess marijuana. If you have been charged with the possession or sale of marijuana in Houston, you could be facing felony charges. These charges could damage your reputation, affect your ability to keep or find work, and much more. It is important to have an experienced criminal defense attorney who will protect your rights and your future. Contact or call the skilled Galveston criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates for a consultation today at (281) 280-0100.