Do I Need a Lawyer to Fight Domestic Violence Charges?
Whether you are going through a breakup or a divorce and domestic violence allegations have arisen out of your split with your ex, or if you are facing domestic violence charges under different circumstances, it is critical to begin working with a Texas domestic violence defense attorney as soon as you can. While you might think that the charges will get dropped because your ex made the allegations out of anger and vindictiveness, or you might assume that the charges are not especially serious, you need to think carefully about the charges and the potential consequences upon conviction. In short, if you are convicted of domestic violence, which is known as assault against a spouse or another family member, you will have a criminal record and can face jail time.
One of our experienced Texas domestic violence defense lawyers can speak with you today about your case and your options for building a defense strategy. In the meantime, the following are some of the key reasons you need to have an attorney on your side to fight the domestic violence charges you are facing.
Domestic Violence Charges Are Serious Assault Offenses That Can Result in a Criminal Conviction
Domestic violence allegations and charges should never be taken lightly, and you need a lawyer to avoid having a criminal record. To be sure, under the Texas Penal Code, domestic violence allegations typically are charged as assault against a spouse or family member. According to the law, a person commits assault if she or he does one of the following:
- Causes bodily injury to someone else, including the person’s spouse;
- Threatens someone else with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse; or
- Physically touches another when the person knows that the victim will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
Criminal Convictions for Domestic Violence Range from Misdemeanors to Felonies
If you are convicted of assault against a spouse or another family member, you will face at a minimum Class A misdemeanor charges. When the charges include “dating violence,” “family violence,” or violence against a member of your household, you may be facing third-degree felony charges. The charges can increase to a felony in the third degree in these circumstances if you either have a previous conviction or the assault involved stopping the breathing or circulation of the blood of the person.
A Class A misdemeanor can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000, and a third-degree felony conviction can result in 2-10 years in prison. You will want to have an experienced attorney on your side to avoid jail time or a lengthy prison sentence if you are convicted of a domestic violence offense.
Contact Our Texas Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
When you are facing any kind of domestic violence charges, including assault, it is critical to hire an aggressive Texas domestic violence defense attorney to help you fight the charges. Contact The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates to learn more about how our firm can assist you.